We’re sure from time to time, you come across posts from your friends or Facebook Pages or People that you follow that can get annoying or obnoxious. Sure, there is the option of unfollowing them or unfriending them, but if you’d rather not go to those extremes, then you’ll be pleased to learn that Facebook has a happy middle solution: a Snooze button.
Back in September it was reported that Facebook was testing out a Snooze button, which is basically a way to temporarily mute your friends and pages or people that you follow, and Facebook’s recent announcement means that the feature is now available to all users and could be worth checking out if you’d like a little reprieve from certain people.
According to Facebook, “With Snooze, you don’t have to unfollow or unfriend permanently, rather just stop seeing someone’s posts for a short period of time. The people, Pages, and groups you snooze will not be notified. You will be notified before the Snooze period is about to end and the setting can also be reversed at any time.”
That being said, there are other ways that users can prevent certain posts from showing, such as through the “Hide” feature which teaches Facebook that these are posts you’re not interested in, which in turn will hide similar posts from your News Feed in the future.